Home | About | Bio | Gallery | Press | Charity | Patron | Passion Play | Interviews | Movie Reviews
Movie reviews » Captain America: Civil War

Captain America: Civil War

Posted on Feb 11, 2016

It’s been a full year since the events of Avengers: Age of Ultron took place, and in Captain America: Civil War, things are about to get interesting. After yet another international incident involving Steve Rogers / Captain America (Chris Evans) results in collateral damage, politicians are deciding to get involved. Up until this point the Avengers have operated with unlimited power and no supervision – something that many no longer find tolerable. Although many people see the Avengers as heroes, after the latest incident many are now starting to call them vigilantes. As a result of this schism, an act is passed that regulates superhuman activity and creates government oversight and accountability for the Avengers.

While some of the Avengers can accept this oversight, others cannot, and the Avengers break into two camps. One, led by Steve Rogers, is dedicated to remaining free to defend humanity without government interference. The other, led by Tony Stark / Iron Man (Robert Downey, Jr.), is willing to recognize that if the Avengers cannot accept limitations, in the end they’re no better than the bad guys. With two groups of Avengers attempting to protect the world from yet another new enemy, it’s inevitable that there will be consequences. The question is, how will this impasse over who governs superheroes and how play out?

Captain America: Civil War was directed by Anthony Russo and Joe Russo from a screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely. Captain America: Civil War is scheduled to be released into theaters by Walt Disney Pictures and Marvel Studios on May 6, 2016.  The ensemble cast of this action adventure also features Scarlett Johansson, Sebastian Stan, Anthony Mackie, Emily VanCamp, Don Cheadle, Jeremy Renner, Chadwick Boseman, Paul Bettany, Elizabeth Olsen, Paul Rudd, Frank Grillo, William Hurt, and Daniel Brühl.